top of page
Featured Posts

Tasty Tuesday: Drop Scones with Cinnamon Almond Butter

I'm not sure if it was just our routine being thrown out of whack or what, but being awoken at an ungodly hour this morning meant that I felt like trying something new for breakfast. So, go grab a napkin. Or a bib....just whatever is nearby to catch your drool. This recipe is so quick and easy but SO damn delicious you should absolutely plan on making it sometime soon. I will not be discussing how much I ate; just understand that I taste tasted sufficiently and highly recommend this for an easy (even make ahead!!) breakfast.

oh. my. goodness. look at that delicious texture.

I have heard/read about drop scones for what feels like forever, especially in the Baby Led Weaning (BLW) community. They're an easy breakfast food or even as a snack and the varieties you can make are seemingly endless: sweet, savory, plain...you pick! Babies and toddlers have an easy time holding them and you can personalize them to your tastes. With a toddler who loves one food today and will hate it by tonight, I opted for plain just to give them a shot. I'd never made scones before but after scouring many recipes this is what I ended up with, which seemed to be a blend of many of the recipes I found.

Easy Drop Scones

2 cups flour (I use organic unbleached white)

1/3 cup sugar + a dash to sprinkle on top

1 egg

1/2 cup milk

2 tsp baking powder

6 TBSP butter, cold & cut up

dash of salt (I used coarse Kosher)

**Any other ingredient you choose. Our next batch will have a handful of blueberries tossed in**

(Makes: 12 scones)

- Preheat your oven to 425*

- Grease a baking sheet

- Mix your dry ingredients together (flour, sugar, baking powder, salt)

- Toss your dry ingredients into the food processer with your cut up butter and blend. The butter is going to mix right in to the powder

- Whisk your egg and milk together. Now, add this mixture to your dry/butter blend.

- **If you are adding anything additional, fruit, ham and cheese, whatever, now is the time**

- Get a spoon from your drawer, scoop some up and literally drop it onto the greased baking sheet. Drop Scones...see what they did there?! Repeat until you have 12 scones.

- Sprinkle with a tiny bit of sugar on top

- Bake for 12-13 minutes or until the tops are nice and golden brown.

These smelled great while they were cooking and I was so happy that the combined prep/cook time was less than 30 minutes! I figured that we could just put a little dab of butter on it but felt like since we went with plain scones, a nicely flavored butter would kick it up a notch. I grabbed a few tablespoons of butter, a light sprinkle of cinnamon, and a few drops of almond extract and whisked it together. The butter was light and fluffy and tasted ahhhhh-MAZE-ing. I'm not giving exact measurements because, honestly, I didn't take them. I wanted something light but you could easily add more to get a stronger flavor if that's what's going to put a smile on your beautiful face!

Toddler approved! She ate two and loved them!

Seriously. Go make these. I look forward to reports back on how you liked them!

xoxo

Courtney

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page